Asia Cup Winner 2022 – Sri Lanka

asia cup

On Sunday in Dubai, Sri Lanka won the Asia Cup event in the shortest format of cricket, and the country in crisis broke out in impromptu celebrations. Regardless of the significant hurdles Sri Lanka is currently facing, the President extended his sincere gratitude to everyone who dedicated themselves to this tremendous victory, according to a statement from his office.

Many former Sri Lankan players congratulated the current team, and the current test stars from the island nation also stepped in.

Courtesy pic:

Highlights from the Pakistan vs Sri Lanka, The Final:

Sri Lanka beat Pakistan in a final that varied till the final overs of the later team’s innings. The Sri Lankan team made Pakistan’s 172-run chase difficult throughout, and they tightened the screws in the final four overs. Wanindu Hasaranga, who had earlier scored a 21-ball 36 to assist Bhanuka Rajapaksa and the Sri Lankan innings in regaining momentum, took three wickets by himself in the 17th over to all but put an end to Pakistan’s effort. Earlier, Rajapaksa completely turned the tables on Pakistan with an unbeaten 45-ball 71. Sri Lanka ended up scoring 170/6 despite being 67/5 after the first 10 overs.

Asia Cup 2022 winners’ and runner-awards up’s

The anticipated prize money for this year’s Asia Cup champions is Rs 1,59,53,000; however, the runners-up will receive Rs 79,66,000 instead.

Sri Lanka defeated Pakistan in the most recent Asia Cup final between these two nations, which was held in Bangladesh.

asia cup
Courtesy pic:

Man of the Series is Wanindu Hasaranga.

During the Asia Cup 2022, Hasaranga was at the top of his game overall. He also contributed with his bat, scoring important runs for his team and taking wicket at key moments.

He amassed 66 runs while using the bat and nine wickets while using the ball. Wanindu Hasaranga excelled on the field as well, taking 4 catches to aid his team’s victory. He was given the Man of the Series title for his overall effort.

Bhanuka Rajapaksa won Man of the Match in the championship game.

Bhanuka Rajapaksa won the game after almost single-handedly bringing Sri Lanka’s score while batting first to 170. Rajapaksa’s 71 from 45 deliveries gained significance because the Lankans were out of the game after nine overs, when they were 58/5.

Asia Cup Winner

After defeating Pakistan in the championship match, Sri Lanka was awarded the 2022 T20 Asia Cup. Six teams, comprising Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Pakistan, India, and Hong Kong, competed in the 2022 edition of the competition, which officially began on August 27.

Since the tournament’s start in 1983, the India cricket team has consistently topped the list of winners.

The Asian Cricket Council arranged the inaugural Asia Cup, which took place in Sharjah, United Arab Emirates, in 1984. In the championship game, India defeated Sri Lanka to win the inaugural Asia Cup. The Men in Blue were declared the inaugural tournament champions. When the second Asia Cup was played in 1986, Sri Lanka, the runners-up from the first competition, won the title by defeating Pakistan.

The 12th Asia Cup, where T20 World Cup champions Sri Lanka were proclaimed as champions, was one of the most entertaining tournaments ever. Despite several close matches taking place, Sri Lanka easily defeated Pakistan by five wickets in the championship match.

Team India has won the trophy seven times, making them the most successful team in the competition. Pakistan has also won the Asia Cup twice, while Sri Lanka, who has won the coveted trophy five times, is in second position. Bangladesh can be called unlucky not to lift the trophy despite appearing in three Asian Cup finals.

Courtesy pic:



By Poonam

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »